Kempower - EV fast-charging fairytale

Let’s kick-off a thread about Kempower, probably the most interesting stock in my tech coverage right now. I’m a Finnish analyst with 4 years experience in the industry and I cover 9 stocks at Inderes currently. We initiated coverage of Kempower in 15th August with a recommendation ‘Accumulate’ and target price of 20 euros. The full initiation report in English is behind this link.

I’m willing to answer any questions related to Kempower. Actually, I’ve received some questions by e-mail this morning and would like to share those to this forum in order to initiate some conversation. I was asked about profitability, competitive positioning & scalability of Kempower’s business, so let’s get into it one by one:

Competitive positioning: Kempower benefits from decades of R&D work made by its former parent company Kemppi Oy, a Finnish non-listed welding machinery manufacturer. Since the welding machines use similar DC power technology than EV fast chargers, Kempower was able to launch a range of very competitive products in 2019, just two years after the company was spun-off from Kemppi. It has gained market shares rapidly, thanks to its high quality products. Maybe the most advanced technical feature is Kempower’s dynamic power control (up to 8 cars may charge from one charger simultaneously and the power is shared between cars efficiently). Modularity, scalability, durability and customer-friendly design are other factors that make the products appealing.